The Meredith College Experience

My Crazy Weekend.

Have you ever had a weekend that was just so completely busy and unusual that you will probably remember it for a long time? Well, that is how my weekend this week! Friday was just a crazy day full of responsibilities.  I got up and walked over to the library with my roommate for our research class.  I am taking this class to prepare me for my thesis next semester, it is crazy to think it is almost time to write my thesis! I researched The Bell Jar and Sylvia Plath for the hour of class and then we headed over to Harris for the end of year Meredith Recreation Association meeting! The meeting was a lot of fun because last years leadership was honored and next years leadership was announced! I will be taking on my second year as publicity co-chair with one of my best friends! It was also a plus that there was breakfast at this meeting.  After MRA, I headed off for my next three classes: British Literature, Advanced Grammar, and Earth Science.

After a full day of classes I walked over to the science and math building for an Intervarsity planning meeting because I am Large Group Coordinator for next year! After my meeting, I met up with a few girls from my beginning golf class to head over to the NCSU golf club for a field trip of sorts.  I golfed my first real game and it was fun but I did an awful job! I arrived back on campus after golfing to pack and eat a quick dinner before heading out for an Intervarsity leadership retreat! Like I said, Friday was crazy! The retreat was a lot of fun as I got to know a lot of the new leadership team.  We had a bonfire, played games, and sang songs.  It was a great way to end a busy Friday!

Saturday is where things began to get interesting. As I left the retreat, I could tell that it was getting ready to rain.  I hurried back to school to avoid the rain and to get ready before going to my roommate’s dance performance.  My friend, Matt, arrived and we walked over to the auditorium for the show but it had not started to rain yet. Kaylee’s first dance was probably my favorite of the whole show, it was a rendition of Super Mario and it was just a lot of fun. The show was moving along pretty well until about half way through when the lights flickered a little and I received a text and a phone call from the MC Alert warning the students about possible tornadoes.  They stopped the entire production for a while as they let the storm pass and then the dancing continued.  Come to find out after the show that a tornado has touched down in downtown Raleigh and really messed it up! We were so extremely lucky to be completely fine with a tornado so close by! It was really scary and kind of exciting! I finished off Saturday by celebrating a friend’s birthday then hanging out with Kaylee and Matt and my boyfriend and another friend.

Sunday was pretty uneventful.  A friend who is a freshman at ECU came to visit and we all just spent the day hanging around campus and doing homework.  The day was beautiful and calm which was a strange and welcomed change from the day before!

Leave a comment